How Long Does Google Keep Your Search History?

Does Google automatically delete search history?

When you use Google sites, apps, and services, some of your activity is saved in your Google Account.

Most of this data is kept until you delete it, like when you manually delete or set time periods to automatically delete your data in My Activity.

Some data may expire sooner..

Where does browsing history go when deleted?

Recovering Deleted Files Your browser history is stored just like everything else on your computer, as a file (or collection of files). Clearing your browser history merely deletes these files from your hard drive.

How do I permanently delete my Google history on phone?

Clear your historyOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Chrome app .At the top right, tap More. History. … Tap Clear browsing data.Next to ‘Time range’, select how much history you want to delete. To clear everything, tap All time.Check ‘Browsing history’. … Tap Clear data.

How do I delete all traces of Internet history?

Clear your historyOn your computer, open Chrome.At the top right, click More .Click History. History.On the left, click Clear browsing data. … From the drop-down menu, select how much history you want to delete. … Check the boxes for the info you want Chrome to clear, including “browsing history.” … Click Clear data.

What Google searches are illegal?

Here are some of the internet search terms and topics that can be considered illegal and land you in jail:Child Pornography. Viewing content where persons under the age of 17 engage in sexually explicit activities is considered a sex crime. … Torrenting. … Questionable Explosive Terms. … Hiring an Assassin.

Can someone see your search history through WiFi?

Yes. If you use a smartphone to surf the Internet, your WiFi provider or a WiFi owner can see your browsing history. Except for browsing history, they can also see the following information: Apps you were using.

Can anyone see your Google search history?

Google Search History You might not know it, but every time you use Google to perform an online search. … Although an individual person would have to know the password information for your Google account to access it. Google maintains a history of your queries and must allow access to it if a court order is obtained.

How do I permanently delete my browsing history from my hard drive?

2. Erase Empty (Unused) Storage SpaceRun BitRaser File Eraser.Choose Data Erasure algorithm and Verification method from ‘Tools. … Click ‘Home’ and then choose ‘Erase Unused Space. … Select the hard drive that you wish to sanitize.Click the ‘Erase Now’ button.More items…•

How long does Google keep your browsing history?

Historically, Google has retained that information indefinitely, but in 2019, the company rolled out a way to automatically delete data points after three months or 18 months, depending on the chosen setting. Starting today, those settings will be on by default for new users.

Does Google keep your search history forever?

Google will still keep your “deleted” information for audits and other internal uses. However, it won’t use it for targeted ads or to customize your search results. After your Web history has been disabled for 18 months, the company will partially anonymize the data so you won’t be associated with it.

Does deleting history really delete?

Simply deleting your browsing history does not delete all the information Google possesses relating to your search history. There are three ways for users to delete their Google browsing history and Google search history and to turn off their activity to protect their privacy.